You never left

The water reflects the orange hues of the sunset. The sky a mirage of gold and blue. What a wonderful sunset I think to myself and almost immediately miss your hand in mine.


As I wear my silver earrings in the morning, putting on blue bindi matching my kurti, I remember you aren’t around to see it.


I see the candle flicker in the glass bottle. It’s flame illuminating the table. A yellowish glow across my face due to the candle. You aren’t sitting across the table to smile through the dim light.


I laugh until I go red in the face when my colleague said something and realise you aren’t around to see me laugh so hard.


I climb the brown rocks, soaking in the beauty, calmness and serenity that surrounds it. You aren’t around to share that silence.


We cross your street in the car. I see the street name written in white against a blue board. You aren’t there in your street though.

Places come and go. Days go on. Colors and hues are captured to send to you.
You aren’t around. Through all of it. But are you really away? Physically, yes. Mentally, not really. Any form of beauty instinctively reminds me of you.
Beautiful colours remind me of you.
Places remind me of you.
Laughter reminds me of you. Silences reminds me of you.
I share all my joy with you.
All my sorrows disappear around you.
Distance can only do so much to a person. It can only remind us of someone. It can’t lessen their worth. It can’t diminish their memory. It can’t erase their thoughts.


In reality, you never left. You are always right here. In my mind, in my heart.
I see you smiling. I hear you laugh. I feel your warmth. I feel your hug.
Today, you don’t see the gold and blue sky with me. But there will be another sunset tomorrow, where I put my head on your shoulder, hold your hands in mine and enjoy the lake reflecting the sun.
In a few ways, you never left. You are here. Always will be. A part of mine. Forever.

Leave a comment