DURONTO” the word Duronto means Restless in Bengali. These trains have a peculiar Yellow & Green color. These trains matches or are even faster than Shatabdi & Rajdhani Express trains.The trains have started to operate since 2009.

These trains only commute on long distance connectivity. Thus, they have minimum stops on their way. The first Duronto ran between Sealdah and New Delhi. This train is faster than Rajdhani. Rajdhani covers the stretch in 17Hrs while Duronto covers it in 16Hrs. They reach the top speed of 142 Km/Hr for non-stop journey. Rajdhani has recorded its highest speed as 140 Km/Hr.

Below is the list of 26 Duronto’s operating,

No Train number Services
1 12213/12214 Yeshvantapur Delhi Sarai Rohilla AC Duronto Express
2 12219/12220 Secunderabad Mumbai Duronto Express
3 12221/12222 Pune Howrah Duronto Express
4 12223/12224 Lokmanya Tilak Terminus Ernakulam Duronto Express
5 12227/12228 Indore Duronto Express
6 12239/12240 Jaipur Duronto Express
7 12245/12246 Howrah Yeshvantapur Duronto Express
8 12259/12260 Sealdah – New Delhi Duronto Express
9 12261/12262 Howrah Mumbai CST Duronto Express
10 12263/12264 Hazrat Nizamuddin Pune Duronto Express
11 12265/12266 Delhi Sarai Rohilla Jammu Tawi Duronto Express
12 12267/12268 Ahmedabad Duronto Express
13 12269/12270 Chennai Duronto Express
14 12273/12274 Howrah New Delhi Duronto Express
15 12275/12276 Allahabad New Delhi Duronto Express
16 12281/12282 Bhubaneswar Duronto Express
17 12283/12284 Ernakulam Duronto Express
18 12285/12286 Secunderabad Hazrat Nizamuddin Duronto Express
19 12289/12290 Nagpur Duronto express
20 12293/12294 Allahabad Duronto Express
21 12297/12298 Pune Ahmedabad Duronto Express
22 22201/22202 Sealdah Puri Duronto Express
23 22203/22204 Visakhapatnam – Secunderabad Duronto Express
24 22205/22206 Chennai Madurai AC Duronto Express
25 22213/22214 Kolkata Shalimar – Patna Duronto Express
26 22209/22210 Mumbai New Delhi Duronto Express

Till date there are only 2 derailment incidents registered against these trains. Thus it makes this train one of the most reliable trains to cover the long stretches.


Happy Journey!! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close